Helpful Links

The following internet sites and publications are great resources on end-of-life matters. 

Hospital Partners

Bay Area Medical Center - www.bamc.org

Bellin Health - www.bellinhealth.org

Bond Health Center - www.bondhealth.org

Community Memorial Hospital - www.cmhospital.org

Ministry Door County Medical Center - www.ministryhealth.org

Prevea - www.prevea.com

Shawano Medical Center - www.shawanomed.org

St. Mary's Hospital Medical Center- www.stmgb.org

St. Vincent Hospital - www.stvgb.org

 

Hospice Organizations

American Hospice Foundation - www.americanhospice.org

The Hospice Organization and Palliative Experts of Wisconsin - www.hopeofwisconsin.org/

Hospice ― For Patients and Families Facing Life-threatening Illness  - www.hospicenet.org

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization - www.nhpco.org

 

Caregiving

Beyond IndigoCaregiving and Terminal Illness - www.death-dying.com/caregiving/

Caregivers World - www.caregiversworld.com

Caregiving and Loss: Family Needs, Professional Responses - www.hospicefoundation.org

Door County Caregiver Publication "Coming Together:  Shared Wisdom from Door County Caregivers"

Elder Care Online - www.ec-online.net

Eldercare Locator - www.eldercare.gov

Empowering Caregivers - www.care-givers.com

Family Care America - www.familycareamerica.com

Family Caregiver Alliance - www.caregiver.org

National Alliance for Caregiving - www.caregiving.org

National Family Caregivers Association (NFCA) - www.nfcacares.org

Oconto County Caregiver Toolbox  - ocontocountytoolbox.wetpaint.com

Wisconsin Family Caregiver Support Program - www.wisconsincaregiver.org

 
 

Grief

Compassionate Friends - www.compassionatefriends.org

Death, Dying and Bereavement Institute - www.uwgb.edu/outreach/ddb

Kids Konnected Cancer Support and Education - www.kidskonnected.org

 
 

Additional Resources

AARP - www.aarp.org

Advance care planning / Other end-of-life topics - www.partnershipforcaring.org

Ageless Design (A resource for Alzheimer's Disease) - www.agelessdesign.com

Alzheimer's Association - Greater Green Bay, WI Chapter - www.alz.org/gwwi

Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources - www.gwaar.org

Mesothelioma Guide - www.MesotheliomaGuide.com

Wisconsin Department of Health Services (Listing of County and Tribal Aging Offices) - www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/aging/contacts/coagof.htm

Books and Other Resources

Caregivers Reprieve: A Guide to Emotional Survival When You're Caring for Someone You Love - Avrene L. Brandt

Comfort & Care in a Final Illness: Support for the Patient & Caregiver - June Cerza Kolf

The Comfort of Home: An Illustrated Step-by-Step Guide for Caregivers - Maria M. Meyer and Paula Derr

Final Gifts: Understanding the Special Awareness, Needs, and Communications of the Dying - Maggie Callahan and Patricia Kelley

In Lieu of Flowers: A Conversation for the Living - Nancy Cobb

Keeping Them Healthy, Keeping Them Home - Ellen M. Caruso

Especially for Children and Teens ...
Charlotte's Web
- E.B. White
    -A story about the journey of life for children of all ages

Facing the Hard Times - Earl Hipp
    -A book for adolescents

Facing Change - Donna O'Toole
    -A book about loss and change for teenagers

The Moon Balloon - Joan Drescher
    -A journey of hope and discovery for children and families